My Top Five Free Fonts

We all know how important (and sometimes frustrating) fonts can be when it comes to your creations, even more so trying to pick out the perfect one that brings the whole design together. These decisions can be anywhere from Serif or Sans Serif, bold or italicized,  maybe even calligraphy or typewriter styled. Personally, I am a font fanatic and can spend hours switching back and forth between typefaces. It sometimes gets to the point where they will haunt me and keep me up at night.

I’ve decided to make my top 5 font list that I have been using a lot lately to hopefully inspire you when digging around for that perfect “ttf” to finish your design. The best part about all this is that are all free to download and use for personal and professional business. All of the fonts listed below can be found and downloaded at dafont.com

Thank you so much for checking out my list and remember,

“Actions speak louder than words, but not when you have the right font.”

– yours truly 

5.

Screen Shot 2017-03-01 at 6.50.48 PM.pngby Ariq Sya

Screen Shot 2017-03-01 at 6.52.08 PM.png

Lemon Milk is a super bold Sans Serif font that is one of my “go-to” fonts and is just such a perfect font to be used for headliners and posters. I use Lemon Milk when I need a reliable and solid typeface that is easy to read and gets the point across with a little drop of style like what we see with the “M” and “N”

4.

Screen Shot 2017-03-01 at 7.02.52 PM.png  by Alit Suarnegara

screen-shot-2017-03-01-at-7-03-18-pm

Morva is such a beautiful Serif typeface. (PS: I am 100% NOT a Serif type of designer, so it is a really big deal that one made it on the top 5 list) This font is so elegantly simple that it really can be used for mostly anything. I see Morva (or fonts very similar) being used for theater purposes (posters for student theaters) movie headliners, or something along those lines.

3.

screen-shot-2017-03-01-at-7-12-04-pm by Tom Booth

screen-shot-2017-03-01-at-7-12-10-pm

Back at it again with the Sans Serif fonts! I know I should be using more of a variation but I can’t help myself, just something about all capitalized bold fonts just fills my heart with pure joy! Woodhouse is so simple but the curve of the letters make it fun in a cute little hippy kind of way, absolutely perfect for music festivals and Coachella designers everywhere.

2.

screen-shot-2017-03-01-at-7-23-43-pm by Måns Grebäckscreen-shot-2017-03-01-at-7-23-51-pm

Here we have a really nice calligraphy typeface. It is stated by the creator of the font that this font is to be downloaded and used for personal use only, however you can purchase the commercial license for this font right here. Overall, this font made my top list because unlike most calligraphy fonts, it is very easy to read and not too overbearing with all the “swirls.”

Many other beautiful calligraphy styled fonts have been created by Måns Grebäck (click on the name if you would like to further explore their work.)

1.

NUMBER 1 and you guessed it, another Sans Serif font but this one has my heart! 

screen-shot-2017-03-01-at-7-58-29-pmby Phitradesignscreen-shot-2017-03-01-at-7-58-35-pm

I came across this beauty on Behance.com and actually ended up using this font for my new personal branding logo. Sequel is my number 1 because it is just so clean but has that professional swag. I highly recommend this font for any personal branding projects or any in logos that have words involved.

2 thoughts on “My Top Five Free Fonts

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

